Pear and Pecan Bread

October 10, 2009

Here is my dilemma: I cook an awful lot and I take scads of pictures, but I don’t post them on the blog. Its a lack of discipline or time on my part. So my computer is fast filling up with folder upon folder of delectable food photos, but only one out of every five recipes gets posted. What to do…

IMG_1491

Regardless, here is a quick and delicious dessert (or breakfast item) that I have become quite addicted to the past couple years. Its from the Joy of Cooking, my all time favourite cookbook. I’ve often said that if I had to leave my home suddenly and had the choice of only one cookbook to take along, this would be the one. It has EVERYTHING.
Pear bread is in the lovely family of loaf cakes, like banana bread, that whip together quickly since they use oil as shortening and often include some sort of mashed or grated fruit and chopped nuts.

IMG_1493IMG_1497

They are ideal for the fall when fruit and vegetables are abundant and a fragrant slice of cake is all you need to compliment a steaming hot cup of tea or coffee. The juicy pears in this recipe are set off by the lemon zest and juice, pleasant surprises in every mouthful. And of course the bread tastes even better the next day.

IMG_1509

Pear and Pecan Bread (from the Joy of Cooking, p 775)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×5 inch pan.
Whisk together:
1 1/2 c flour
1 c sugar (I usually cut back to about 2/3 or 3/4 c sugar)
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg

In a separate large bowl, whisk together:
1 large egg
1/2 c vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp grate lemon zest
1 Tbs fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 c grated ripe pears with juice (no need to peel)

Add flour mixture to wet ingredients and fold just till about 3/4 of dry ingredients are moistened. Add:
1 c coarsely chopped pecans.
Fold just till dry ingredients are moistened.
Scrape batter into pan, spread evenly, and bake in center of oven 1 hr and 15 min till toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
Let cool in pan 10 minutes then unmold onto a rack and let cool completely.

5 Responses to “Pear and Pecan Bread”

  1. Julio Vega Says:

    The Pear and Pecan Bread is delicious!

    Barry and I love it.

    You’re right, it doesn’t require a lot of sugar.

    Can’t wait to make this bread with other seasonal fruits.

    • brownstonebaking Says:

      Hmm, there’s a thought, making the bread with other seasonal fruits. What I love about the pears is how juicy they are– it does such nice things to the texture of the cake and you barely need the spices. I sometimes combine with mashed banana if I’m short on pears or vice versa. I wonder how apples would do…?

  2. Lori Says:

    Ruth, I was inspired by this, and made it last weekend, and then took it to a tea party. It was delicious 🙂 And I’m loving your blog. It’s very you.

    • brownstonebaking Says:

      Lori so glad you enjoyed this recipe. Its super yum and easy isn’t it. I love that people are cooking off this blog, that is wonderful!

  3. Amy J in SC Says:

    I’ve never seen pear and pecan bread. Looks yummy! Can’t wait to try it out – soon!


Leave a Reply

